Lamborghini Is Being Sued For Cybersquatting By The Owner Of Lambo.Com

Having lost a cybersquatting case involving his domain name, the owner of the domain name has filed a lawsuit.

In response to the domain name being owned by Richard Blair, Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A. filed a UDRP cybersquatting claim. Blair asserted that lambo was his domain name forum username and in the UDRP he used it as his name.

2-1 split decision last month by the three-member World Intellectual Property Organization panel favored the carmaker.

Lews & Lin, LLC filed the lawsuit against Lamborghini for Blair after he wasn’t represented by counsel in the UDRP. Due to the fact that the lawsuit was filed within 10 days of the UDRP decision, the WIPO decision has been stayed.

As a result of Blair’s ownership of the domain name, the lawsuit asks the court to declare that he is not cybersquatting. The UDRP probably should have addressed his interest in the domain name in greater detail.

Suppose Blair communicated about the domain with someone else before registering it, Lamborghini may seek discovery to learn more about his intentions. That’s hard to determine if everything is in his head.

Scroll to Top